top of page

Searching in the Wrong Places?


I’ll be happy when...I get my dream job, I’ll be happy when... I’m in a relationship, I’ll be happy when... I have kids, I’ll be happy when… I have more money, I’ll be happy when… I don’t have to go to school anymore, I’ll be happy when… I’m not so busy, I’ll be happy when I have more to do cause I’m so bored.

As humans, we tend to think “when, when, when”. We chase desires in life that we think will bring us ultimate happiness; such as love, belongingness, acceptance, and success. But what happens when we finally do get there? Are we happy? Yes. But that happiness soon fades and becomes ordinary. What we were chasing did not fully satisfy us as much as we thought, and leaves us wanting more. This feeling of “There’s got to be more” comes from God. We all have desires given by God that we search to fill. But are we searching for them in the right places? Or should we be searching at all? We can either search to fill these longings on our own, or we can look to the one who has already fulfilled these desires; such as love, hope, purpose, and acceptance.

 

HOPE “For I know the plans I have for you”, declares the Lord, “Plans to prosper you and not to harm you. Plans to give you hope and a future” Jeremiah 29:11

STRENGTH “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” Philippians 4:13

LOVE “Whenever you feel unloved, unimportant, or insecure, remember to whom you belong” Ephesians 2:19-22

ACCEPTANCE “Who I am in Christ matters more than what I think or what other people tell me about myself” Colossians 3:1-4

PURPOSE "I cry out to God most high, to God who fulfills his purpose for me." Psalm 57:2

 

By finding joy through God, there is no need to search for happiness in wordly things. The fact that you will be happy once you are in a relationship, or once you succeed in your job is a lie built around a desire. Don’t search for happiness in circumstances. Instead, look beyond these circumstances and look at what is true in your life through Christ. Only then, will you experience true joy. Once you find joy through Christ, there will be no need to search for happiness, it will already be given to you.

Psalm 37:4 Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.


MADE BY ASHLY, TAYLOR, ALLISON, AND EMILY WITH LOVE

4 WOMEN SHARING OUR WALK WITH GOD AND REACHING OUT TO OTHERS

SUBSCRIBE
VIA EMAIL

RECENT POSTS

bottom of page